Friday, May 21, 2010

Playlist For May 21, 2010

Both Freddie McGregor's "Rasta Have Faith" and Ken Boothe's "Silver Words" were produced by Winston "Niney" Holness a.k.a. the Observer.

Despite it's title, Michael Rose's "Observe Life" is not from the Observer, but rather from Niney's good friend Lee "Scratch" Perry a.k.a. the Upsetter.

Freddie McGregor: Rasta Have Faith - Mr. McGregor (Mercury 1979)
Mafia & Fluxy: Striving A Dub - Dub Anthems (Black Arrow Download 2010)
Ken Boothe: Silver Words - Roots With Quality (VP Records 2009)
New Age Steppers feat. Denise Sherwood: Silver Words - Rare & Unreleased: 17 Exclusive Tracks (On-U Sound Download 2009)
Prince Fatty feat. Hollie Cook: That Very Night - From MySpace
The Offs: Everyone's A Bigot - Everyone's A Bigot 7" (415 Records 1977)
Jamaica Girls: Rock The Beat - Big Apple Rappin': The Early Days Of Hip Hop Culture in New York City (Soul Jazz 2006)
Prince Jammy's: Brooklyn Dub - Strictly Dub (Pressure Sounds 2010)
Michael Rose: Observe Life - Observe Life 7" (Dug Out 2010)
New Age Steppers feat. Ari Up & Bim Sherman: Observe Life - Action Battlefield (On-U Sound 2000)
The Zircons: Stormy Weather (Old Timer Records 1964) [Free Download]
Fats Comet: Stormy Weather - Tackhead: Power Inc., Vol. 1 (Blanc 1994)
New Age Steppers feat. Ari Up: Stormy Weather - Foundation Steppers (On-U Sound 1983)
Lord Mouse & The Kalypso Kats: In The Jungle - Lord Mouse & The Kalypso Kats (Jump Up 2010)
Lee Perry, Dennis Bovell & The On-U Sound System Vs. Pempi: Iron Man - Iron Man 12" (On-U Sound 2010)
The Heptones: I Hold The Handle - On Top (Studio One 1968)
The Offs: I've Got The Handle - First Record (CD Presents 1984)
Jackie Mittoo: Grand Funk - Wishbone (Light In The Attic 2006)
Sinead O'Connor: Move Out Of Babylon - Throw Down Your Arms (That's why there's chocolate & vanilla 2005)
Mossman & Bunny: Pirates Destroy The City - Message In The Dub (Dispensation 2005)
Twilight Circus Dub Sound System feat. Luciano: What We Got To Do (Acoustic Mix) - Foundation Rockers (M Records 2003)
Augustus Pablo: Pablo In Moonlight City - The Crowning Of Prince Jammy (Pressure Sounds 1999)
Anthony Red Rose: Electric Chair - Electric Chair 7" (Dug Out 2010)
Anthony Red Rose: Electric Chair (Version) Electric Chair 7" (Dug Out 2010)
Lord Mouse & The Kalypso Kats: Calypso Be - Lord Mouse & The Kalypso Kats (Jump Up 2010)

No comments:

Post a Comment